Umweltministerium: Eingang Kernerplatz 9

Ministry of the Environment, Climate Protection and Energy Sector

The Ministry is headed by Ministerin Thekla Walker since May 12th, 2021. The Ministry’s seven departments are responsible for sustainability strategy, climate protection, resource efficiency, circular economy and environmental technology, international cooperation, energy transition and the phase-out of nuclear power, soil protection, water conservation and flood protection, nature conservation and maintaining biodiversity.

  • Towards a sustainable future

Duties and Organisation

Learn more about the topics and duties of the Ministry of Environment, Climate Protection and Energy Sector. Furthermore we introduce our departments.

Steckdosenleiste mit Schalter
  • EMAS

Environmental management

The Ministry has the certificate according EMAS (ECO Management and Audit Scheme) since 2001 und presents every year the improvement in its environmental performance to an external expert. EMAS is an environmental management scheme based on EU-Regulation 1221/2009.

Umweltministerium am Kernerplatz 9 in Stuttgart

How to find us

The Ministry of the Environment, Climate Protection and the Energy Sector is located in four separate office buildings. The offices at Kernerplatz 9, Hauptstätter Straße 67 (Argonhaus) and Dillmannstrasse 3 are all easily accessible by public transport.  

Frau sitzt im Büro und nimmt Anruf entgegen
  • Contact

Ministry of the Environment, Climate Protection and the Energy Sector

Kernerplatz 9
70182 Stuttgart
PO Box 103439
70029 Stuttgart
Telefon: +49 711 126-0
Telefax: +49 711 126-2881
Contact form

Kamera beim Filmdreh
  • Press Office

Contacts for Journalists

You are a journalist and have a request? The press office of the Ministry is at your disposal.