EU Strategy for the Danube Region

Objectives and key issues


The EU Strategy for the Danube Region (EUSDR) is intended to make the Danube region more prosperous, promote the implementation of European law in the participating countries, and, in this way, bring candidate countries closer to EU membership. It is especially intended to help realise the objectives of the Europe 2020 Strategy, which aims to create Europe's second macro-region after the Baltic Sea Region.

Key issues

The EUSDR establishes four main key issue areas: "Connecting the Danube Region", "Protecting the Environment in the Danube Region", "Building Prosperity in the Danube Region" and "Strengthening the Danube Region". Together with Croatia, Baden-Württemberg coordinates the key issue area PA 8 "Supporting the competitiveness of enterprises". The Ministry of the Environment, Climate Protection and the Energy Sector is therefore participating in the PA 8 working group “Environmental Technologies and Energy Efficiency”.


The EU Strategy for the Danube Region (EUSDR) was endorsed by the European Council on 24 June 2011. The strategy encompasses the entire Danube River Basin and a total of 14 countries: the nine EU Member States of Germany (Baden-Württemberg and Bavaria only), Austria, Czech Republic, Slovakia, Hungary, Slovenia, Bulgaria, Romania and Croatia, the EU candidate countries of Montenegro and Serbia, the potential candidate countries of Bosnia and Herzegovina, Ukraine (the regions on the Danube only) and the Republic of Moldova.